Envirofuel experiences the MTECH Fuelsaver – Part 2

<< Envirofuel experiences the MTECH Fuelsaver – Part 1

The First Day (18 Jan 08)

What a day! I’ll start at the start and attempt to be concise.

Minutes before I was about to ride to work I dropped the sensor into the tank. Due to the tank internals it had no choice but to fall down the right side where the fuel pump and fuel filter reside. I started the bike, wheeled it out of the shed and rode the 40km to work. By the time I arrived at work my seat of the pants analysis told me that the bike seemed to be running more smoothly than normal, the idle speed had not changed and it appeared that I needed less throttle than normal. However, I resolved that the only way to differentiate between wishful thinking and reality was to wait until I done consumption calculations on two or three tanks of fuel before making any announcement about whether or not the Fuelsaver is saving me fuel.

The ride home was no different. I rode home the fun way in an attempt to compare performance on a route where the riding was a little more spirited than the more direct traffic light to traffic light drudge. The feeling of smooth running persisted, as did the impression that less throttle than normal was required. By the time I got home I had once again confirmed that it would take a few tanks of fuel before a true result could be declared.

The truly interesting part of the day was being contacted by Moletech not long after arriving at work! They informed me that, based on this article, I had purchased the incorrect Fuelsaver kit for my motorcycle. As you may have noticed the GS is 1150cc and the Moletech web site says the Fuelsaver I purchased is for 100cc – 1100cc motorcycles.

I was well aware the GS engine was 50cc larger than the stated capacity when I purchased the Fuelsaver but since there was no other motorcycle specific model on the Moletech web site that catered for larger capacity bikes I went for what I thought was the best fit.

Compounding my apparent misunderstanding is the fact that depending on where you look on the Moletech web site you will find three different fuel tank size indications for the M01010 model Fuelsaver. One says a maximum of 50 litres. Another says a maximum of 20 litres. Yet another says over 20 litres. This is frustrating and only adds to the confusion when trying to select the correct product. As the GS fuel tank is 22 litres I figured that 50cc and 2 litres wouldn’t make that much difference.

According to Moletech my mistake was that I should have downloaded the installation instructions and used the information on page 4 to determine which Fuelsaver to buy for the GS. Page 4 contains a table. The bottom row of this table says that for an engine size “Over 1100cc and water cooled”, with a tank capacity over 20 Ltr, “It is recommended that the under 3 Ltr car kit is used. Kit #M01027″.

For a start I expected the installation instructions to be in the box with the sensor so I didn’t look for any to download. Oh, by the way, these instructions outline an “updated” calibration procedure. The one on the box is no longer valid. Who knew?

Secondly my bike isn’t water cooled so why would I need a kit with a water sensor. Anyway, does “Over 1100cc and water cooled” mean all water cooled bikes with a capacity greater than 1100cc or does it mean all bikes over 1100cc and all water cooled bikes regardless of capacity? More confusion.

In the e-mail conversation I had with Moletech this morning I tried twice to explain that with a product such as this their information needs to be consistent. Regardless of their confidence in their product it is the perception of the purchaser that matters. Here we have a product that for most people will fall into the “it’s too good to be true” category because like myself they don’t truly understand the technology. Like me they will be skeptical no matter how many pieces of paper Moletech have from certified test organisations and Universities in Taiwan, China, Australia and the US. If the presentation of the product and the supporting information is inconsistent potential purchasers will become more skeptical and not take the risk. I suggest the Moletech management read and apply the principles in “Crossing the Chasm” by Geoffrey A. Moore. Unless they can satisfy the early adopters the early majority will forever remain out of reach.

Fortunately for Moletech the majority of their customers will be looking for car Fuelsavers. Information on these appears more consistent than what I’ve experienced but I have found an error on the web site (which I pointed out and got told it didn’t matter) and until I buy a car kit I’ll be unable to compare what is in and on the box to the information on the web site.

To their credit Moletech did offer to get the dealer to replace the current sensor with the M01027 model to ensure maximum benefit. I have yet to determine whether I will take them up on their offer. Getting the motorcycle to the dealer, removing the sensor and fitting the new sensors will take time I don’t have. And after all, this is supposed to be a real world experience and everything I’ve done so far is based on information provided by Moletech. A frustrating day it has been!

Over the weekend the GS will remain in the shed. On Monday I’ll fill the tank, reset the odometer and start the process of measuring consumption. Based on past experience I should have an update for you at the end of next week.

>> Envirofuel experiences the MTECH Fuelsaver – Part 3

Leave a Reply

