Envirofuel experiences the MTECH Fuelsaver – Part 1

Lets get two things straight before we get into the details.

  1. This is not a carefully calibrated test. It is a record of my real world experience using the MTECH Fuelsaver. There will be no testing of exhaust gases and the fuel consumption figures will be as accurate as I can get them by relying on memory, petrol pumps and odometers.
  2. Moletech Australia have no influence over what I am now writing or what I am going to write in the future. The Fuelsaver was purchased today with my hard earned money and I’ll let you know what I think of the product in my own words.

The Logic

It is my firm belief that we should be striving to make our current vehicles as economical as possible. It is going to take time to find a replacement for oil, particularly in heavy transport, so the less we use now the cheaper it will be later on.

Ever since I heard about the MTECH Fuelsaver (previous post) I’ve been wondering if it really works. My first impression after reading about it on the Moletech web site was that it was too good to be true. I was, and still am, reasonably skeptical but I’ve decided to give it a try.

Due to the cost (AUD159 for the motorcycle model versus AUD399 for one suitable for my car) and ease of installation my first experience with the Fuelsaver is going to be in my motorcycle. Getting the sensor into the tank is as simple as opening the fuel cap and dropping it in. Getting it out if it doesn’t work, or something goes wrong, will be relatively easy as the tank is easy to remove.

The Bike

My trusty steed is the 2003 model BMW R1150GS (GS) in the picture below.

BMW R1150GS

The following GS facts and figures are relevant to the Fuelsaver experience:

  • 1150cc two cylinder horizontally opposed engine
  • fuel injected
  • air and oil cooled
  • after market Ultimap ECU
  • after market Staintune muffler (original header pipes and catalytic converter)
  • ~90hp
  • 45,000 km
  • 22 litre fuel tank
  • BP Ultimate or Mobil 8000 98 octane fuel
  • 5.7 – 6.0 L/100km (commuting)
  • 4.3 L/100km (touring with a strong tail wind)

Not exactly economical is it? Most motorcycles aren’t as they’re tuned for performance. However, it is far more economical than my car so it gets ridden to and from work most days.

The Purchasing Experience

This was interesting. Normally I’d quite comfortably buy something like this via the Internet. However, when attempting to do so from the Moletech site you end up at a PocketMail site. Yes, the Moletech information is there and the site is secure but the lack of professionalism reinforced my skepticism.

After shying away from the on-line purchase I found the local dealers in my city on the Moletech web site and started ringing around. The first one I called said that they’d had calls from other potential customers but they had nothing to do with Moletech and couldn’t work out why people were calling them about the Fuelsaver. They were a little surprised when I told them their details are on the Moletech site. By now the skepticism meter was in the red zone and I was almost ready to give up.

Two more calls and I found a dealer that knew something about the product, albeit one that was unwilling to say anything about experiences other customers had had with it. Still, they seemed to be genuine and offered to order the product and call me when it arrived. And call me they did so I picked it up on the way home and here it is.

MTECH Fuelsaver box MTECH Fuelsaver sensor MTECH Fuelsaver memo
Click images to enlarge

The Plan

The minimalist instructions say you should run the bike at 4500rpm for 5 minutes after installing the sensor. As the GS is air/oil cooled and redlines at 7500rpm I would probably overheat it by doing that in the shed tonight. Tomorrow morning I’ll drop the sensor into the tank and then ride my normal 40km commute to work. Like I said, a real world experience.

I’ll update this post tomorrow night and let you know how it goes. In the meantime let me know if you’ve got any questions.

>> Envirofuel experiences the MTECH Fuelsaver – Part 2

7 Responses

  1. I recently learned that a friend of mine is the chairman of a fuel saver company. His company guarantees between 10 and 20 percent fuel savings or money back. Buyers have realized as high as 50% savings.

    I would like to put him in touch with you. Please let me know if this is possible. Thank you. Al

  2. Al,
    I’m all for products that improve fuel economy. After a year of Envirofuel I’m convinced one of the best things we can do right now is make much more efficient use of the resources we have. Do you use the product your friend produces? If so, what is it and what results do you get?

    You raise an interesting point about guarantees. The Moletech product I have purchased has no guarantee or disclaimer anywhere in or on the packaging. I guess that means they haven’t been sued yet 🙂
    Luke

  3. Luke, how long have u installed the Moletech device and on what vehicle?

    Doesn’t matter if there is no guarantee or disclaimer. The point is did it help save fuel for you?

  4. Knightrider,
    Click on the MTECH tab at the top of the page for the answers to your questions. I’ll update that page when I have more information.
    At the moment I’ve just about used my first full tank of fuel with the Fuelsaver in the tank. Given Moletech say it will take two or three tanks to see good results on vehicles with as many kilometers as mine I don’t expect to see much improvement when I fill up today but I’ll let you know.
    Luke

  5. Well….. did this work or not? No feedback since Jan., so maybe it didn’t?

  6. John,

    Follow the link at the bottom of the post to Part 2. From there you can go to Part 3, 4, 5 & 6 using the same method to read the whole saga.

    Luke

  7. I purchased this setup fuel saver for petrol and lpg, After i installed the units i went on holiday doing approx.10,000kl at the end of the trip i found no improvement in petrol or lpg consuption.As far as i am concerned the units are of not any good.When i tried to contact the company they have vanished from Australia. BE WARNED.

Leave a Reply

