World Solar Challenge 2007

Now that entries have closed it has been revealed that 46 teams from 21 countries have signed up to start the World Solar Challenge race from Darwin to Adelaide in October this year.

2007 World Solar Challenge route

The Nuon Solar Team from the Netherlands won the biennial solar car race 2001, 2003 and 2005 and is the favourite to take out its fourth victory this year.

In 2005 the winning car, Nuon Solar Team’s Nuna 3 completed the journey with an average speed in excess of 100 km/h. In that race the top five teams were handicapped by the 110 km/h speed limit throughout the State of South Australia so the 2007 race is being held before the open speed limit in the Northern Territory is restricted.

The the Nuon Solar Team will enter the Nuna 4 in this year’s 3010km race.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: